When are the matches and how does the tournament work

When are the matches and how does the tournament work

When are the matches and how does the tournament work

The Hundred 2022 fixtures: when are the matches and how does the tournament work - GETTY IMAGES

The Hundred 2022 fixtures: when are the matches and how does the tournament work – GETTY IMAGES

The Hundred’s second edition is underway and the ECB hopes to build on the success of the first tournament last year.

The new format gives each team a hundred bowls to take 10 wickets, compared to the slightly longer T20 matches, and uses a draft system to build the teams.

The matches are available to watch live on television on a range of channels and the competition concludes on September 3, with the finalists in the men’s and women’s tournaments playing at the Home of Cricket, Lord’s.

Here’s everything you need to know about The Hundred.

How does the new competition format work?

There are eight teams, all city-based, who will play each other home and away in the group stage of 32 games. The team that finishes on top will qualify for the final, and the sides in second and third will play an eliminator to decide the other finalist.

Both the men’s and women’s finals will take place at Lord’s on September 3.

The men will earn between £30,000-£125,000, a striking pay gap with the women being paid between £7,500 and £31,250 to play in the tournament.

However, the prize money will be the same, although this year’s prize pool has not yet been confirmed. Last year, the winning men’s and women’s teams earned £150,000 each, and runners-up £75,000.

Birmingham Phoenix lose Men's Centenary final to Southern Brave - ACTION IMAGES VIA REUTERS

Birmingham Phoenix lose Men’s Centenary final to Southern Brave – ACTION IMAGES VIA REUTERS

The Hundred 2022 matches

(Men’s results only until 11 August)

Wednesday August 3 – Southern Brave vs Welsh Fire – Brave won by nine wickets
Thursday 4 August – Oval Invincibles vs London Spirit – Spirit won by three runs
Friday 5 August– Manchester Originals vs Northern Superchargers – Superchargers won by six wickets
Saturday 6 August – Trent Rockets vs Birmingham Phoenix – Rockets won by six wickets
Sunday 7 August – Welsh Fire vs Oval Invincibles – Invincibles won by 39 runs

Monday, August 8 – London Spirit vs Manchester Originals – Spirit won by 52 runs
Tuesday 9 August – Northern Superchargers vs Trent Rockets – Rockets won by seven wickets
Wednesday 10 August – Birmingham Phoenix vs Southern Brave – Phoenix won by 53 runs
Thursday 11 August – Oval Invincibles vs Northern Superchargers – Invincibles Men won by three wickets; Invincibles Women won by nine wickets
Friday the 12th August – Southern Brave vs London Spirit – Spirit Men won by nine runs; Brave Women won by six wickets
Saturday 13 August – Manchester Originals vs Trent Rockets – Rockets Men won by eight wickets; Rockets Women won by 43 runs
Saturday 13 August – Welsh Fire vs Birmingham Phoenix – Phoenix Men won by four runs; Phoenix Women won by 19 runs
Sunday 14 August – Northern Superchargers vs London Spirit – Spirit Men won by seven wickets; Supercharges Women won by five runs
Sunday 14 August – Oval Invincibles vs Southern Brave – Invincibles Men won by seven wickets; Brave Women won by 12 runs

Monday 15 August – Birmingham Phoenix vs Trent Rockets – Phoenix Men won by seven wickets; Phoenix Women won by eight wickets
Tuesday 16 August – Manchester Originals vs Welsh Fire – Originals Men won by 47 runs; Originals Women won by 11 runs
Wednesday 17 August – Trent Rockets vs Oval Invincibles – Rockets Men won by 25 runs; Invincibles Women won by five wickets
Thursday 18 August – Southern Brave vs Manchester Originals – Originals Men won by 68 runs; Brave Women won by nine runs
Friday, August 19 – Birmingham Phoenix vs Northern Superchargers – Northern Superchargers Men won by 32 runs; The Phoenix Women won by five runs
Saturday 20 August – Trent Rockets vs London Spirit – Rockets Men won by six wickets; Rockets Women won by 18 runs
Sunday 21 August – Northern Superchargers vs Manchester Originals – Originals Men won by 23 runs; Superchargers Women won by seven wickets

Monday, August 22 – Welsh Fire vs Southern Brave – Brave Men won by nine wickets; Brave Women won by 14 runs
Tuesday 23 August – Oval Invincibles vs Birmingham Phoenix – Phoenix Men won by 10 runs; Invincibles Women won by eight wickets
Wednesday 24 August – London Spirit vs Welsh Fire – Spirit Men won by 17 runs; Spirit Women won by eight wickets
Thursday 25 August – Southern Brave vs Trent Rockets
Friday 26 August – Welsh Fire vs Northern Superchargers
Saturday 27 August – London Spirit vs Oval Invincibles
Sunday 28 August – Birmingham Phoenix vs Manchester Originals

Monday 29 August – Trent Rockets vs Welsh Fire
Tuesday 30 August – London Spirit vs Birmingham Phoenix
Wednesday 31 August – Northern Superchargers vs Southern Brave
Wednesday 31 August – Manchester Originals vs Oval Invincibles

Friday 2 September – Eliminator (The Ageas Bowl)
Saturday 3 September – Finally (Lord’s)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.